2022 FIFA World Cup|Who will win the Golden Ball, Golden Boot and Golden Glove awards?

The 2022 FIFA World Cup has reached the final four stage. In addition to the final four teams competing for the Hercules Cup, individual awards are also a focus of attention. The Golden Ball, Golden Boot and Golden Glove awards have attracted many people to place their bets on individual players.

世界盃/世足運彩有人這樣下注!搞懂金靴、金球、金手套獎 「偷看歷屆得主」讓你秒變最強預測家

Golden Ball seems to be the consolation prize of the World Football Cup

The Golden Ball, the most valuable player of the tournament, will also be selected from the final four. But the Golden Ball seems to be a symbol of the World Cup’s “consolation prize”, as the winners of the Golden Ball have not won in six consecutive editions.

Since the 1994 World Cup, six of the seven World Cups have been won by the winner or runner-up, with only 2010 being won by Uruguayan striker Diego Forlán, the third-place finisher. Since 1998, Brazil’s Ronaldo won the Golden Ball Award and was not won by the champion. Germany’s Oliver Kahn in 2002 and France’s Zinedine Zidane in 2006 were also among the runners-up.

No player has ever won the Ballon d’Or consecutively, but the defending champions France and Argentina have the best chance of winning the award. Argentine star Lionel Messi also has a good chance of winning the award this year, but he won it once in 2014, when he led Argentina to the final after 24 years. The team was defeated by Germany in the prolonged tournament and did not win the championship, and also finished as the runner-up. The last edition was also won by the runner-up Luka Modric of Croatia. Whether the Golden Ball Award can break the curse of the championship team members to win, all walks of life are very concerned.

Messi has a chance to become a triple champion


The 2022 FIFA World Cup is the best ever for Lionel Messi, who is participating in the World Cup for the 5th time. He feels comfortable both on and off the field, and now he has a chance to not only lead Argentina to the title, but also to win the Golden Boot and the Golden Ball.

It is easy to see how ambitious Messi is to win the World Cup. He has been preparing for months and knows that he has to be at the top of his game in November and December, and based on his performance so far, he has indeed succeeded. In terms of goals, this has been Messi’s most productive year for Argentina, with 15 goals so far in 2022 in a national team uniform.

Now, Messi has a chance to win the World Cup and win the Golden Boot and Golden Ball, becoming the “3 Champions” of the World Cup. Messi is tied for 2nd place with 4 goals in the race for the Golden Boot currently. At the 2014 World Cup in Brazil, Argentina came second to Germany in the championship, but Lionel Messi still won the Golden Boot that year. Although for Messi, the most important thing is to lead Argentina to win the title.

Golden Glove Favorite Dominik Livakovic

上屆亞軍克羅埃西亞門將利瓦科維奇目前為金手套大熱門。 美聯社

The biggest contributor to Croatia’s cold victory over Brazil in the PK match was goalkeeper Dominik Livakovic, who not only stopped Brazil’s attacks in the regular season, but also saved Brazil’s first point in the PK match. He is now the third goalkeeper in the history of the World Cup to do so, and he is now considered a Golden Glove favorite.

Vakovic became the third goalkeeper in the history of the World Cup to save three penalty goals in one game, and this performance is not limited to Japan, as he stopped nine goals in 90 minutes in the regular season against Brazil, which is a Croatian team record.

In this year’s World Cup, Vakovic has already blocked 4 goals and 12 yards, and became the third goalkeeper in history to block 4 penalty goals in a single World Cup PK battle after this game. The other two are Sergio Goycochea of Argentina in 1990 and Danijel Subašić of Croatia in 2018.

Adidas Golden Boot

The award is sponsored by Adidas and therefore bears the name of Adidas. This year, French star Kylian Mbappe is currently leading with five goals. French star Kylian Mbappe currently leads the race for the Golden Boot, the symbol of the best scorer, with five goals, while Lionel Messi and France’s Olivier Giroud are tied for second place with four goals.

  • Golden Boot winners in the past
1994U.S. World CupОлег Саленко / Hristo Stoichkov6 goals
1998France World CupDavor Šuker6 goals
2002Korea/Japan World CupRonaldo8 goals
2006Germany World CupMiroslav Klose5 goals
2010South Africa World CupThomas Müller5 goals
2014Brazil World CupJames Rodríguez6 goals
2018Russia World CupHarry Kane6 goals

Golden Ball

The Golden Ball is awarded to the best player of each World Cup, also known as the “Best Player Award”. In 1982, the first selection was made by the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), which presented a list of ten players who were voted on by representatives of the international media as the best players of the tournament. The top two and three players are awarded the Silver Ball and the Bronze Ball.

  • Golden Ball winners in the past
1994U.S. World CupRomário de Souza FariaBrazil
1998France World CupRonaldoBrazil
2002Korea/Japan World CupOliver Rolf KahnGermany
2006Germany World CupZinedine ZidaneFrance
2010South Africa World CupDiego ForlánUruguay
2014Brazil World CupLionel MessiArgentina
2018Russia World CupLuka ModrićCroatia

Golden Glove

The Golden Glove Award is given to the goalkeeper who has performed the best in each World Cup. It was created in memory of the late Lev Ivanovich Yashin, the famous former Soviet Union goalkeeper, and was formerly known as the Yashin Award. FIFA named this award the Yashin Award.

  • Golden Glove winners in the past
1994U.S. World CupMichel Preud’hommeBelgium
1998France World CupFabien BarthezFrance
2002Korea/Japan World CupOliver Rolf KahnGermany
2006Germany World CupGianluigi BuffonItaly
2010South Africa World CupIker CasillasSpain
2014Brazil World CupManuel NeuerGermany
2018Russia World CupThibaut CourtoisBelgium